top of page
Writer's pictureSuzy Heaton

Name 1: Mighty Creator

Updated: Feb 19, 2021

"In the beginning [Elohim] created the heaven and the earth."

Genesis 1:1


Mighty Creator. Supreme God. Strong One (Hudson, 8).


What do all these descriptions have in common? They are attributed to the God Who created all. They are descriptions of the Elohim of the Bible.


Did you notice something about the title? It does not say "Creator"; it says "Mighty Creator". As you read the Genesis account of creation, you will notice the words "And God said..." over and over again. He is the One Who spoke the whole universe into existence! He is that mighty. That is our God. Elohim...


Now, I know what some of you may be thinking... "But God did not speak everything into existence" …and you would be correct. God did say in Genesis 1:26-27, "Let Us make man in Our image, after Our likeness...So God created man in His own image, in the image of God created He him; male and female created He them". In Genesis 2:7, we see a more specific explanation on how mankind was created. The Bible says, "And the Lord God formed man of the dust of the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living soul."


What I find so amazing about this verse is that Elohim, the Mighty Creator Who spoke many wonderful and gorgeous things into existence, cared so much about humans that He went further than just speaking (even though He could have done just that). He formed mankind and breathed into them the breath of life, causing them to become a living soul. The Mighty Creator so delicately created male and female in His image...


He still so fearfully and wonderfully forms and fashions each unborn child today...and He is the same One Who lovingly and wonderfully created each and every person that was born.


"For Thou hast possessed my reins: Thou hast covered me in my mother's womb. I will praise Thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are Thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. My substance was not hid from Thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in Thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them. How precious also are Thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with Thee."

Psalm 139:13-18


That is the kind of God I want to worship. The Elohim Who personally loves me.


"When I consider Thy heavens, the work of Thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which Thou hast ordained; What is man, that Thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that Thou visitest him?"

Psalm 8:3-4



56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page