top of page
Writer's pictureSuzy Heaton

Can We Really Lean on God?

Updated: Sep 25, 2021

Hey, me again :)


Have you ever been praying to God, seeking Him for direction in your life and choices and just wondered to yourself... can I really trust God?


If you haven't, let me just tell you... I have... and there is an overwhelming feeling of uncertainty that comes with it!


I mean, don't I already know what is best for my life? Why can't I lean on my own strength and knowledge?


What does the Bible say about God and His leading me that should give me hope in Him leading my life?


If I have learned one thing in life, it is that this temptation to lean on my own understanding of what I believe to be best for me is, well...quite common. It isn't just experience that makes me believe that, although I have heard this fear echoed back to me many times. The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 10:13 that there is no temptation [to lean on my own wisdom] that is uncommon...


The reason God gives us this encouraging admonition in Proverbs 3:5-6 to...


“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.”


...is because the temptation to do just that-- lean on our own understanding and to follow our own unsurrendered heart-- is especially easy to do... and quite destructive at that.


So, what about the above verse is the most important thing? My opinion?


What we already know about God...


When we remember that God personally loves us, is always in control of all things for our good and His glory, that God lovingly guides us, sees us where we are struggling, actively and patiently hears us when He already knows what will come to pass... and, I mean, so much more!


Will you think about it with me? What else does the Bible say about our God that gives you and I so much comfort in knowing we can lean on Him? What gives you hope that you can trust Him?


What gives me hope is that God already knows...everything... He stays and listens to me oh so closely, even though He already knows everything I'm scared of, everything I hope, everything I'm feeling, and holds the present and the future in His hand...


Dear, Heavenly Father, thank you...


Psalm 139 is such an amazing passage that I have found hope in when I doubt His love, presence, and guidance... It would be an amazing passage for anyone else to read, I guarantee it! :)


My own heart will always plan my own way, but the Lord will always direct my steps. (Proverbs 16:9)


As I look back at all the times I was uncertain and overwhelmed about God's leading in my life, I can definitely say I have leaned on my own knowledge and understanding before. However, when I have leaned on the Lord and all He is... I find peace, and in that peace I find Him leading me each small step at a time!


I will be graduating with my Master's very soon, and what a relief it is to know that God already knows the way I will go.


He is already there, and He will lead me as I trust in Him with all that I am and seek His face continually...


Will you join me in surrendering your plans to Christ and following Him?


God already knows. He sees you. He hears you. Your Heavenly Father loves you.


You can trust Him!





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Do You Fear?

What do you fear? When I ask this question, I am not asking of a healthy type of fear. I guess you could say a healthy fear would be a...

Comentários


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page